PLU 4th Annual High School Programming Contest February 2014 Contest Results

The Fourth Annual Pacific Lutheran University High School Programming Contest was held Saturday, February 1st, at the Morken Center for Learning and Technology.

Thirty-one teams registered for the contest with 80 students from 14 schools competing for awards and prizes. Students worked for three hours to write programs to solve as many problems as they could from a set of twelve problems written for each category (Advanced and Novice). Teams are ranked by the number of problems solved. Teams that solve the same number of problems are ranked by the total time needed to solve the problems. More information about the contest (e.g., scoreboard, pictures, and problems) can be found at http://www.plu.edu/csce/hs-prog-contest/home.php.

Congratulations to the following teams and defending Champions from Roosevelt High School: Advanced Category:

1st Place - Roosevelt High School

(10 problems in 520 minutes) 2nd Place - Lakeside High School (9 problems in 507 minutes) 3rd Place – Olympia High School

(9 problems in 831 minutes)

Novice Category:

1st Place – Tahoma High School (10 problems in 866 minutes) 2nd Place – Bonney Lake High School (9 problems in 627 minutes) 3rd Place – Garfield High School (9 problems in 645 minutes)

All the winning teams received engraved medals and the top team in the advanced category won a perpetual trophy that is engraved with their names and the name of their high school. The winning team will retain the trophy until September to be displayed at their high school.

The top represented schools were Cleveland (7 teams) and Olympia (4 teams).

Special thanks to team coaches for their help and support:

Ashley Meyers from Roosevelt High School Susan Evans from Cleveland High School Sam Procopio from Holy Names Academy Kathy Wright from STEM School in Lake Washington Robyn Saarenas from Auburn Riverside High School Shannon Thissen from Bonney Lake High School Earl Bergquist from Garfield High School Lauren Bricker from Lakeside High School Jan Stuckey, Alex Steinkamp, and Marc Turnbow from Olympia High School Crystal Hess from Tahoma High School Grant Bower from Mercer Island High School Andrea Foegler from Newport High School Brendan Mason from Pierce Count Skills Center Tracy and Boone from Tacoma School of Arts

We also want to thank PLU student volunteer Nick and Michelle and contest judges Dr. David Wolff, Shannon Thissen, and Susan Evans.

The PLU High School Programming contest is the first Saturday in February at the Morken Center for Learning and Technology. The contest sponsors include the PLU CSCE Department, Microsoft Corporation, and McNeel & Associates

For further information visit the web site <u>www.cs.plu.edu</u> or contact Dr. Kenneth Blaha by email <u>blahakd@plu.edu</u> or by phone (253) 535-8702.