The Diversity Center

Spirit of Diversity Awards

Each year, Diversity Advocates have the opportunity to nominate faculty, administrators, staff, and students who have been especially visible, empowering, advocating and supportive to the cause of social justice on our campus and beyond.  The Spirit of Diversity Awards are our way to say “Thanks” to members of our community who are committed to making the PLU environment welcoming and respectful for all of us.  The Spirit of Diversity Awards is held in early May and the whole campus is welcomed to attend the festivities.

Past Recipients:


Tommy Flanagan - Junior, University Congregation
Nicole Jordan - Junior, Resident Assistant
Nicole Juliano - Programs Coordinator, The Diversity Center
Dr. Jan Lewis - Associate Provost
Peggy McKenna - Custodian, Facilities Management
Andy Morris - Sophomore, Rieke Scholar
Jade Neace - Sophomore, Hinderlie RHC
Karina Sandavol - Junior, Latinos Unidos
Act Six Cadre Two

The Rick Eastman Award for Excellence in Mentoring
Cheryl Cristello - Rainbow Center and Oasis


Dr. Adela Ramos - Assistant Professor, English
Akane Yamaguchi - Associate Director, International Student Services
Mike Farnum, Senior, PLU VetCorps Representative
Torhild Skillingstad - Senior, International Student Services Intern
Dr. Eva Johnson - Dean, Student Development, Director, Student Involvement & Leadership
Act Six Cadre One

The Rick Eastman Award for Excellence in Mentoring
Rick Eastman - Associate Director, Student Involvement & Leadership


Dr. Teresa Ciabattari - Associate Professor, Sociology
Amber Baillon - Assistant Director, Student Involvement & Leadership
Lauren Fuglevand - Senior, Rieke Peer Educator
Boo Dodson - Junior, Rieke Scholar
Nick Butler - Digital Media Developer
The Sex+ Series
Tunnel of Oppression


Dr. Stephen Woolworth, Associate Dean - School of Education and Movement Studies, Associate Professor - Instructional Development and Leadership
Dr. Jennifer Smith, Visiting Assistant Professor - English
Dr. David Deacon-Joyner, Director - Jazz Studies, Professor - Music
Chelsea Putnam, Rieke Scholar
Caitlyn Jackson, Social Action and Leadership Resident Assistant
Xochilt Coca, Vice President - Latinos Unidos
Dmitry Mikheyev, Co-Commissioner of Harmony
Tunnel of OppressionCross
Cultures- Dining and Culinary Services


Dr. Marit Trelstad, Associate Professor of Religion
Dr.Steven Thomson, Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Pat Roundy, Dean of Student Academic Success, Director of Academic Advising
Rick Eastman, Associate Director of Student Involvement & Leadership
Robert Troy Moore, PLU Senior
Brandy Jean Hieb, PLU Sophomore


Shayna Doi, PLU Junior, Rieke Scholar and President of Hawaii Club
Kate Fontana, PLU Senior, ASPLU Religions Relations Director
Amy Fox, Coordinator of International Internships & Acting Director of Study Away
David Gerry, Associate Director of International Student Services
Dr. Brenda Ihssen, Visiting Assistant Professor of Religion
Dr. Alicia Suarez, Assistant Professor of Sociology


Troy Andrade, PLU Senior
Beth Kraig, Professor of History
Susan Mann, Former Director of Study Away
Shannon Murphy, PLU Senior
Jeff Smith, Regulatory Compliance Operations Manager
Barbara Temple-Thurston, Professor of English
Campus Ministry


Christine Claridge, PLU Junior
Suzanne Crawford, Assistant Professor, Religion Department
Emily Davidson, Lecturer, Spanish Department
Joanne Ito, Clinical Psychologist, Counseling & Testing
Alex Montances, PLU Senior
Lace Smith, Programs Coordinator, Student Involvement & Leadership