Spring 2012 Commencement

PLU President Loren J. Anderson
May 27, 2012 2:30pm
Tacoma Dome, Tacoma, WA


View Commencement Program

Academic Processional

(Audience is requested to be seated for the processional.)

Processional of Joy, Lawrence J. Meyer
Members of the University Symphony Orchestra
Jeffrey L. Bell-Hanson, Associate Professor of Music, conductor

UNIVERSITY MARSHAL: Norris A. Peterson (’75), Dean, Division of Social Sciences

FACULTY MARSHALS: Colleen M. Hacker, Professor of Movement Studies & Wellness Education
Richard N. Louie, Professor of Physics


Nancy J. Connor, University Pastor


Loren J. Anderson, President
Bruce T. Bjerke (’72), Chair of the Board of Regents

Faculty Retirements

President Anderson
Assisted by Steven P. Starkovich, Provost

Retiring Faculty

Ann C. Kelleher, Professor of Political Science
Dennis M. Martin, Professor of English

Phased Faculty Retirements

Paula H. Leitz, Associate Professor of Instructional Development & Leadership

The Class Challenge

Catherine T. Cheng, Bachelor of Arts, Political Science

Musical Selections

O Praise the Lord by Adolphus Hailstork

Beautiful Savior arr. by F. Melius Christiansen

Choir of the West
L. Richard Nance, Professor of Music, conductor

Commencement Address

Dr. Loren J. Anderson, President, Pacific Lutheran University

Conferral of Masters Degrees

President Anderson
Assisted by Provost Starkovich
James L. Brock, Dean, School of Business
Frank M. Kline, Dean, School of Education & Movement Studies
Terry W. Miller, Dean, School of Nursing
Matthew J. Smith, Dean, Division of Natural Sciences

Conferral of Baccalaureate Degrees

President Anderson
Assisted by Provost Starkovich
Jan P. Lewis, Associate Provost
The Class Response
Mycal L. Ford, Bachelor of Arts, Chinese Studies & Political Science

Closing Comments

President Anderson

Prayer and Benediction

Dennis G. Sepper, University Pastor


(Audience is requested to remain seated until the graduates have exited the arena.)

Processional of Joy, Lawrence J. Meyer

Pastor Dennis Sepper

PLU President Loren Anderson

Bruce T. Bjerke (’72), Chair of the Board of Regents

Provost Steve Starkovich

Catherine T. Cheng

Choir of the West

PLU President Loren Anderson

Mycal Ford

Pastor Dennis Sepper