P A C I F I C   L U T H E R A N   U N I V E R S I T Y S P R I N G   2 0 0 0 

[Pacific Lutheran Scene]


Westering is Division III football coach of the year

Frosty Westering and Anthony Hicks
Frosty Westering and Anthony Hicks
Photo: Brian Hoffman

Frosty Westering, who led Pacific Lutheran University to a 13-1 record and the 1999 NCAA Division III national football championship, was named the GTE Coach of the Year for Division III by the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA).

Westering was selected by a vote of the active AFCA members (coaches at four-year schools) in the association's four divisions (I, I-AA, II and III). The AFCA has selected the coach of the year since 1935, and the award is the only one chosen exclusively by the coaches themselves.

As Division III Coach of the Year, Westering served as an assistant coach for the South team in the 2000 Hula Bowl college all-star game at War Memorial Stadium in Maui. Pacific Lutheran will receive a $10,000 academic scholarship from the AFCA in Westering's name that can be used to benefit the school's athletic department and its student-athletes.

Westering, 72, led his team on an unprecedented run through the Division III national playoffs, culminating in PLU's 42-13 win over Rowan, on Dec. 18, in Salem, Va.
Westering has compiled a 233-58-5 (.796 winning percentage) in 28 seasons as PLU coach. In 36 seasons as a college head coach, Westering is 277-84-7 (.762).

Hicks is co-MVP of Lutheran college All-America team

Anthony Hicks '00, who played a key role in PLU's drive to the NCAA Division III national football championship, has been named Co-Player of the Year on the 1999 Lutheran College All-America football team, sponsored by Lutheran Brotherhood.
Hicks, a fullback from Tumwater, Wash., set school records with 1,633 rushing yards, 27 touchdowns and 162 points. He shared the Player of the Year honors with Paul Smith of Gettysburg (Penn.) College.

PLU led all schools with six selections on the Lutheran College All-America team, which is in its initial year of existence. Hicks, senior offensive lineman Josh Hostetter '99 and junior linebacker Luke Gearhard '01 were first team picks. Named to the second team were junior quarterback Chad Johnson '01, senior offensive lineman Andrew Finstuen '99 and senior defensive lineman John Eussen '99.

Any player participating at any of the 41 Lutheran colleges across the country was eligible for nomination.

Pacific Lutheran University Scene
Credits | © 2000 | Comments