Fall 2002

PLU will host 2002 Linus Pauling award honoring outstanding chemist

PLU will host the prestigious Pauling Award Symposium and Banquet this fall to honor a chemist who has made contributions of national and international significance.

This year's recipient is Dr. John I. Brauman, the J. G. Jackson - C. J. Wood Professor of Chemistry at Stanford University. His research is directed toward understanding how molecules react and the factors that determine the rates and products of chemical reactions.

The Pauling Award Medal recognizes outstanding achievement in chemistry and is presented annually by the Puget Sound, Oregon and Portland Sections of the American Chemical Society. The award is named in honor of Dr. Linus Pauling, a native of the Pacific Northwest who won the 1954 Nobel Prize in chemistry, because of the inspiration of his example.

A public symposium and banquet in honor of Brauman will be held at PLU Nov. 8-9. The Pauling Medal will be presented to Brauman at the banquet. PLU Associate Professor Dean A. Waldow is the 2002 Award Chair, and Professor Craig B. Fryhle is
2002 Symposium Chair. To learn more go to

Fall 2002 Scene Copyright © 2002 Pacific Lutheran University
Credits ~ Last Updated 10-22-2002 ~ Comments