Spring 2013 Commencement

Speaker(s): Angela Meade ’01
Date: May 26, 2013 2:30pm – 5:00pm
Location: Tacoma Dome, Tacoma, WA




Commencement Program (1.9mb .pdf)

Posting of the Colors, Reserve Officers’ Training Corps Color Guard

Academic Processional

Processional of Joy, Lawrence J. Meyer
Members of the University Symphony Orchestra
Dr. Jeffrey L. Bell-Hanson, Associate Professor of Music, Conductor
UNIVERSITY MARSHAL: Mr. David P. Robbins, Professor of Music
FACULTY MARSHALS: Dr. Richard N. Louie, Professor of Physics, Dr. Patsy L. Maloney, Professor of Nursing


The Rev. Nancy J. Connor, University Pastor

National Anthem

The Star Spangled Banner, Francis Scott Key


Dr. Steven P. Starkovich, Provost & Dean of Graduate Studies
Dr. Thomas W. Krise, President
Bruce T. Bjerke, Esq., ’72, Chair, Board of Regents

Faculty Retirements

The Provost

Dr. Angelia G. Alexander, Professor of Biology
Dr. Jerrold E. Lerum, Professor of Biology
Dr. Gerald M. Myers, Professor of Business
Dr. Ruth L. Schaffler, Associate Professor of Nursing

Dr. Elizabeth E. Brusco, Professor of Anthropology
Dr. Rochelle E. Snee, Associate Professor of Classics


Praise the Source of Faith and Learning, Thomas H. Troeger


So I’ll Sing With My Voice, Dominick Argento
Choir of the West
Dr. L. Richard Nance, Professor of Music, Conductor


Ms. Kaaren E. Hatlen, Candidate for Bachelor of Science, Mathematics

Commencement Address

Ms. Angela E. Meade ’01, Soprano, The Metropolitan Opera, New York

Conferral of Degrees

The President
Assisted by Dr. Jan P. Lewis, Associate Provost for Curriculum
Dr. Laura J. Polcyn, Associate Dean of Graduate Programs & Special Academic Programs

Hooded by Dr. Frank M. Kline, Dean, School of Education & Movement Studies
Dr. Terry W. Miller, Dean, School of Nursing
Dr. Matthew J. Smith, Dean, Division of Natural Sciences

Closing Comments

The President

Prayer and Benediction

The Rev. Dennis G. Sepper, University Pastor


Processional of Joy, Lawrence J. Meyer