PLU Multimedia Recordings

I Thank You God

  • The Choral Union, Richard Nance, Conductor

Conceived as a “town and gown” ensemble in 1984, and conducted by Dr. Richard Nance since 1993, the Choral Union consists of singers from across the Puget Sound community, including many PLU faculty, staff, students and alumni.  This is the Choral Union’s first recording and features works by Carlyle Sharpe, John Chorbajian, Eric Whitacre, Simon Preston, Z Randall Stroop, Knut Nystedt’s, Benjamin Britten, David Mooney and Frank Ticheli’s.  Also featured are Three American Folk Songs, arranged by conductor Richard Nance, along with his composition Batter My Heart, Three Personed God.  Our album ends with the title work of this CD “I Thank You God” written by one of the country's most esteemed women composers, Gwyneth Walker.

I Thank You God CD

Compact Disc - 2004

PLU Multimedia Recordings -- Pacific Lutheran University


Track Title Composer Length
1 Laudate Nomen; Jonathan Young, Organ                                            
Carlyle Sharpe (b. 1965) 2:42
2 Bitter for Sweet
John Chorbajian (b. 1934) 3:58

Five Hebrew Love Songs; Amy Grinsteiner, Piano; Marcia Ott, Violin
Eric Whitacre (b. 1970)
3 I.  Temuná (A picture)
4 II.  Kalá kallá (Light bride)
5 III.  Lárov (Mostly)
6 IV.  Éyze shéleg! (What snow!); (Nicole Lewin, Soprano)
7 V.  Rakút (Tenderness)

8 Batter My Heart, Three-Personed God Richard Nance (b. 1955) 4:33
9 Alleluyas; Jonathan Young, Organ Simon Preston (b. 1938) 5:19
10 Amor de mi alma; Amy Grinsteiner, Piano    
Z. Randall Stroope (b. 1953) 6:02
11 Praise To God Knut Nystedt (b. 1915) 4:38
12 Festival Te Deum; Jonathan Young, Organ; Jennifer Garrett, Soprano 
Benjamin Britten (1913-1976) 7:11
13 Rakes of Mallow David Mooney (b. 1964) 1:37
14 There Will Be Rest Frank Ticheli (b. 1958) 6:50

Three American Folk Songs; Amy Grinsteiner, Piano; Marcia Ott, Violin (Fiddle)
arr. Richard Nance
15 Arkansas Traveler

16 Shenandoah

17 The Blue-Tail Fly

18 I Thank You God; Amy Grinsteiner, Piano   
Gwyneth Walker (b. 1947) 5:40

Total Run-Time: 1:16:05