PLU Multimedia Recordings


  • Choir of the West, Richard Nance, Director

The American PrizePhoenix, a two-disc set,  is a compilation of works recorded by the Choir of the West over the course of four academic years, from 2006-2007 through 2009-2010. A wide variety of repertoire is represented here, including both sacred and secular works from four stylistic eras—from Renaissance motets to Taiwanese Aboriginal Folk Songs. In keeping with Pacific Lutheran University’s focus on international studies, music in ten different languages appears in this collection, and there are works by composers from the USA, Italy, Germany, England, Ireland, Finland, China, Taiwan, Sweden and Latvia.  PLU student composers Jason Saunders and Philip Serino present their work in this collection, as does PLU faculty member Richard Nance, conductor of the choir.  Phoenix was awarded second place in the prestigious "American Prize" competition for outstanding recording by a collegiate choral ensemble (2011).

Phoenix CD

Compact Disc - 2010

PLU Multimedia Recordings -- Pacific Lutheran University

Program - Disc 1

Track Title Composer
1 Phoenix
Peter Hallock (b. 1924)
2 Tu es Petrus Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (1525-1594)
3 Batter My Heart, Three-Personed God
Richard Nance (b. 1955)
4 Praise To The Lord, The Almighty
arr. F. Melius Christiansen (1871-1955)
5 Singet dem Herrn, ein neues Lied (Opus 12, no. 1)
Hugo Distler (1908-1942)

Five Hebrew Love Songs
Eric Whitacre (b. 1970)
6  - Temuná
7  - Kalá kallá
8  - Lárov
9  - Èyze shéleg!
10  - Rakút
11 Dashing Away With The Smoothing Iron arr. John Rutter (b. 1945)
12 Komm Jesu, Komm (BWV 229)
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
13 Musica Dei donum John Rutter (b. 1945)
14 The Sally Gardens
arr. Philip Serino (b. 1989)
Canciónes por las Americas
Sid Robinovitch (b. 1942)
15  - Noche de Lluvia
16  - Sensemayá
Two Songs from “Five Childhood Lyrics”
John Rutter (b. 1945)
17  - Monday’s Child
18  - Sing A Song Of Sixpence
19 i thank you God for most this amazing day
Eric Whitacre (b. 1970)

Total Run-Time: 1:19:0

Program - Disc 2

Track Title Composer
1 A Mighty Fortress Is Our God Martin Luther (1483-1546)/arr. W. B. Olds)
Three English Anthems
2  - O Sing Joyfully Adrian Batten (c. 1591-1637)
3  - Lord, How Long Wilt Thou Be Angry? Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
4  - Hosanna To The Son Of David Orland Gibbons (1583-1625)
Celtic Origins    Michael McGlynn (b. 1964)
5  - Kells
6  - Maria Matrem Virginem
7  - Dúlamán
8  - Ocean
9 My Song In The Night arr. Paul J. Christiansen (1914-1997)
10 La Otra (from “Three Spanish Landscapes) Jason Saunders (b. 1989)
4 Shakespeare Songs
Jaakko Mäntyjärvi (b. 1963)
11  - Come Away Death
12  - Lullaby
13  - Double, Double, Toil And Trouble
14  - Full Fathom Five
Music from the Pacific Rim
15  - Usuli Boat Song     arr. Jiang Tian Shui (contemporary)

 - Singing Joyfully Over Mountains and
   Seas Evening to Morning

arr. Chun-Rong Chuang (contemporary)
17  - Aftonen
Hugo Alfvén (1872-1960)
18  - Mate Saule (from Three Poems by Czeslaw Milosz)   
Peteris Vasks (b. 1946)
19 Saint Louis Blues
arr. Hall Johnson (1888-1970)
20 Lord God, You Have Called Your Servants
J. Aaron McDermid (b. 1974)

Total Run-Time: 1:14:51