Selection Process

A committee of faculty, staff, and students from across campus participates in the Common Reading book selection process. The committee considers the goals of the program, along with other selection criteria, including literary quality, compatibility with the Integrative Learning Objectives and the potential to stimulate engaging, interactive discussions.

In keeping with the campus-wide focus of the program, the selection committee intentionally seeks out books with themes that will allow students and faculty to have academic discussion from a variety of disciplinary lenses, with particular interest in finding books that speak to themes of diversity, social justice, sustainability, and/or ideas of difference.

2017 Common Reading Book Selection Committee Members

Callista Brown, English, FYEP Director

Peter Davis, Geosciences

Kathy Engle, Admissions

Lorena Guerrero, Nursing

Angie Hambrick, Diversity Center

Rachel Haxtema,  Center for Community Engagement and Service

Jordan Levy, Anthropology

Michael Schleeter, Philosophy

Andrea Shea, Academic Advising

Tolu Taiwo, Center for Gender Equity

Tyler Travillian, Languages & Literatures, Common Reading co-chair

Laree Winer, Student Life Office, Common Reading co-chair