Professional Standards and Guidelines

The following Professional Standards and Guidelines are used by the SoN academic programs:

Required Professional Standards & Guidelines:

  • The Essentials: Core Competencies for Professional Nursing Education (AACN, 2021, April)
  • NTF Criteria for the Evaluation of Nurse Practitioner Programs (NTF, 2012)
  • Washington NCQAC Administrative Code

Specialty Standards & Guidelines:

  • Competencies and Curricular Expectations for Clinical Nurse Leader Education and Practice (AACN, 2013)
  • Nurse Educator Competencies: Creating An Evidence-Based Practice For Nurse Educators (Halsted, 2007)
  • Nursing Administration: Scope and Standards of Practice (ANA, 2009)
  • Consensus Model for APRN Regulation (LACE, 2008)

Nurse Practitioner Competencies in Specialty Areas:

  • Family NP Competencies (2013)
  • PMHNP Competencies (2013)
  • NONPF NP Core Competencies (2014)

Additional Professional Standards & Guidelines used in the Nursing courses:

  • Code for Nurses with Interpretive Statements (ANA, 2015);
  • Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 2nd Ed. (ANA, 2010);
  • Nursing’s Social Policy Statement: Essence of the Profession (ANA, 2010)
  • End-of-Life Nursing Education Consortium (ELNEC) guidelines (;
  • Quality and Safety in the Education of Nurses (QSEN) (
  • National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX) Test Plan