Accessibility Tools (CTRL+U)
Hide the tools

After hiding the tool, if you would like to re-enable it, just press CTRL+U to open this window. Or, move your cursor near the tool to display it.

Currently Reading:

Regents recognize faculty, student leaders

May 9, 2008

Regents recognize faculty, student leaders

At the annual spring meeting, the Board of Regents approved 12 faculty recipients of Regency Advancement Awards and recognized student and faculty leaders. The Regency Advancement Awards are intended to enhance opportunities for professional development and encourage faculty to pursue scholarship and creative projects. The annual awards are competitive, and faculty member must submit detailed applications about their proposed project. Each project can receive up to $4,000.

The faculty members who received the award for the next academic year are: Spencer Ebbinga, art; Michael Halvorson, history; Susan Harmon, business; Diane Harney, communication and theatre; JoDee Keller, social work; Erin McKenna, philosophy; Laurie Murphy, computer science and computer engineering; Eric Nelson, languages and literatures; Matthew Smith, biology; Marianne Taylor, psychology; Claire Todd, geosciences; and Robert Wells, communication and theatre.

Retiring regent Don Morken ’60 was honored at Friday’s dinner, and university historian Philip Nordquist presented his new book, “Inquiry, Service, Leadership and Care.” It chronicles PLU’s history from 1988 to 2008 and follows Nordquist’s first volume, “Educating for Service: Pacific Lutheran University, 1890-1990.”

Additionally, philosophy professor Erin McKenna and anthropology professor Elizabeth Brusco were thanked for their faculty leadership, and students Carl Pierce, Tamara Power-Drutis and John de Mars were recognized.

Other board action included the election of Bruce Bjerke as board vice chair for next year and nominating Jeffrey Rippey to serve as at-large regent for the 2008-2011 term.

The board approved the promotion in rank to professor for David Joyner in music and Patsy Maloney in nursing and tenure for Richard Knuth in instructional development and leadership. It also ratified Angelia Alexander’s appointment as dean of the natural sciences division from 2008-2011, and the appointment of James Brock as dean of the School of Business.

Additional board action:

  • The board was treated to a luncheon program that recognized the Regency Advancement Award winners, those named to Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges, as well as student leaders of ASPLU, the Residence Hall Association and student media.
  • The candidates for degrees at Spring Commencement were approved, pending satisfactory completion of all degree requirements.
  • The university was authorized to engage Virchow Krause, LLP, to perform the financial audits for fiscal year 2008.
  • Other committee activity included presentations by Academic Affairs, Budget and Finance, Development and Student Life.

The next Board of Regents meeting will be held October 12 to 14.