2021-22 Academic Calendar

Pacific Lutheran University uses a 4-1-4 calendar, which consists of two 15-week semesters bridged by a four-week January Term.

Undergraduate Programs

2020-21 End of term dates

    • May 28, 2021 – Friday, Spring Semester ends
    • May 31, 2021 – Monday, Memorial Day Holiday   (PLU closed)

Summer Sessions 2021 (June 7 – August 6)

    • Term I: Monday, June 7 – Friday, July 2
    • Term II: Tuesday, July 6 – Friday, July 30
    • Independence Day: Sunday, July 4 – Monday, July 5  (No classes, PLU offices closed)
    • Workshop Week: Monday, August 2 – Friday, August 6
    • Summer Session Ends: Friday, August 6   (Diploma date for undergraduates)
    • Final Grades Due: Friday, August 13 by 5:00 p.m.
    • Labor Day: Monday, September 6   (PLU offices closed)

Fall Semester 2021 (September 7 – December 17)

    • Opening Convocation: Tuesday, September 7 at 10 a.m.
    • Classes Begin: Tuesday, September 7 at 11:50 a.m.
    • Mid-Semester Break: Friday, October 22   (No classes, PLU offices open)
    • Veterans Day: Thursday, November 11   (Observance at Chapel)
    • Thanksgiving Break: Wednesday, November 24 at 1:35 p.m. – Sunday, November 28
      (PLU offices are closed Thursday and Friday, November 25-26)
      Classes resume on Monday, November 29 at 8 a.m.
    • Classes End: Saturday, December 11   (Saturday classes take final exam this day)
    • Final Examinations: Monday, December 13 – Friday, December 17
    • Fall Semester Ends: Friday, December 17
    • Final Grades Due: Thursday, December 23 by 5:00 p.m.

January Term 2022 (January 3 – January 28)

    • Classes Begin: Monday, January 3
    • Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Holiday: Monday, January 17   (No classes, PLU offices closed)
    • Classes End: Friday, January 28
    • Final Grades Due: Friday, February 4 by 5:00 p.m.

Spring Semester 2022 (February 7 – May 27)

    • Classes Begin: Monday, February 7
    • Presidents’ Day: Monday, February 21   (No classes, PLU offices closed) 
    • Spring Break: Monday, March 28 – Friday, April 1   (No classes, PLU offices open)
    • Easter Break: Friday, April 15   (No classes, PLU offices closed)
      Classes resume Monday, April 18 at 8 a.m.
    • Classes End: Saturday, May 21   (Saturday classes take final exam this day.)
    • Final Examinations: Monday, May 23 – Friday, May 27
    • Spring Semester Ends: Friday, May 27
    • Commencement: Saturday, May 28
    • Final Grades Due: Friday, June 3 by 5:00 p.m.

Graduate Programs

Students should consult with their program for specific calendar information on meeting dates.

Summer Session 2021 (June 1 – August 20)

    • Session Begins: Tuesday, June 1
    • Independence Day: Monday, July 5
      (No classes, PLU offices closed)
    • Sessions Ends: Friday, August 20
      (Diploma date for graduate students)
    • Final Grades Due: Friday, August 27

Fall Semester 2021 (September 7 – December 17)

    • Classes Begin: Tuesday, September 7
    • Mid-Semester Break: Friday, October 22
      (No classes, PLU offices open)
    • Veterans Day Observed: Thursday, November 11th
      (Observance events throughout the day, classes meet as usual, PLU offices are open)
    • Thanksgiving Break: Wednesday, November 24 at 1:35 p.m. – Sunday, November 28
      (PLU offices are closed Thursday and Friday, November 25-26)
    • Fall Semester Ends: Friday, December 17
    • Final Grades Due: Thursday, December 23

January Term 2022 (January 3 – January 28)

    • Classes Begin: Monday, January 3
    • Martin Luther King, Jr., Birthday Holiday: Monday, January 17
      (No classes, PLU offices closed)
    • Classes End: Friday, January 28
    • Final Grades Due: Friday, February 4

Spring Semester 2022 (February 7 – May 27)

    • Classes Begin: Monday, February 7
    • Presidents’ Day: Monday, February 21
      (No classes, PLU offices closed)
    • Spring Break: Monday, March 28 – Friday, April 1
      (No classes, PLU offices open)
    • Easter Break: Friday, April 15 (No classes, PLU offices closed)
      (Classes resume Monday, April 18 at 8:00 a.m)
    • Spring Semester Ends: Friday, May 27
    • Final Grades Due: Friday, June 3

Last Modified: January 21, 2020 at 4:03 pm