Board of Regents

Ownership, Support, Government:

The University is owned and operated by Pacific Lutheran University, Inc., a Washington corporation whose purpose is higher learning. The PLU corporation meets annually on the PLU campus to elect regents and to conduct other business. The corporation consists of up to 125 delegates from the six synods of Region I of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. The Board of Regents includes members of ELCA congregations, representatives from the Alumni Association, at-large members, bishops from the synods of Region I, and the University president.

The policymaking and governing body of the University is the Board of Regents. On the basis of recommendations made by the president, it charts a course for the University and strives to provide essential funds. The student body and the faculty have non-voting representatives who meet with the board. The installation of new Board of Regents Officers occurs each October. The Board of Regents for the Academic Year of 2018-19 will be installed in October 2018.

Edward GroganChair
Mark GouldVice Chair
Michelle LongVice Chair
Mark MillerVice Chair
Susan CaulkinsVice Chair and Secretary
Steve WhitehouseTreasurer
L. Allan BeltonActing President, PLU; Ex-Officio
Dale BensonLake Oswego, OKELCA
Erik BensonSeattle, WAAt-Large
Becky BuradSan Francisco, CAELCA
Mark GriffithBellevue, WAELCA
Jaynee GrosethBozeman, MTELCA
Richard JaechTacoma, WABishop, ELCA
Michelle LongNovato, CAAt-Large
Osamu MatsutaniAnchorage, AKELCA
Nancy PowellGig Harbor, WAAt-Large
Jan RuudTacoma, WAELCA
Daniel AlsakerSpokane, WAELCA
Joyce BarrArlington, VAAlumni
David Brauer-RiekePortland, ORBishop ELCA
Mark GouldLafayette, CAAt-Large
Dale HaarrBillings, MTAlumni
Darren HambySeattle, WAELCA
Matt IseriSeattle, WAAt-Large
Brenda MorrisLake Tapps, WAAt-Large
Jerry SkagaGig Harbor, WAELCA
Laurie SoineSeattle, WAELCA
Charleen TachibanaWoodinville, WAELCA
Jonette BlakneyCarson, WAELCA
Susan CaulkinsTacoma, WAAlumni
Edward GroganGig Harbor, WAAt-Large
Lisa KittilsbyMercer Island, WAELCA
Richard LarsonGig Harbor, WAAt-Large
Mark MillerEdgewood, WAAt-Large
Shelley WickstromAnchorage, AKELCA
Michael FrechetteDean of Enrollment Management & Student Financial Services
Joanna GregsonProvost
Daniel LeeVice President for Advancement
Joanna Royce-DavisVice President for Student Life & Dean of Students
Lace SmithAssociate Vice President for Marketing and Communications
Michelle CeynarPsychology, Faculty
Jacob EggeBiology, Faculty
Tina SaxowskyChemistry, Faculty
Bridget YadenLanguages & Literatures, Faculty
Carlos AlvarezASPLU Finance Director, Student
Carson BergstromASPLU Vice President, Student
Haedon BrunelleASPLU President, Student
Meagan GaskillRHA President, Student
Kyle RapaczSAAC President, Student
Bishop Elizabeth A. EatonBishop
Mr. Bill HorneVice President
Rev. Wm. Chris BoergerSecretary
Ms. Lori FedykTreasurer
Rev. Mark WilhelmExecutive Director, Network of ELCA Colleges & Universities