Board of Regents

Ownership, Support, Government:

The University is owned and operated by Pacific Lutheran University, Inc., a Washington corporation whose purpose is higher learning. The PLU corporation meets annually on the PLU campus to elect regents and to conduct other business. The corporation consists of up to 125 delegates from the six synods of Region I of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. The Board of Regents includes members of ELCA congregations, representatives from the Alumni Association, at-large members, bishops from the synods of Region I, and the University president.

The policymaking and governing body of the University is the Board of Regents. On the basis of recommendations made by the president, it charts a course for the University and strives to provide essential funds. The student body and the faculty have non-voting representatives who meet with the board. The installation of new Board of Regents Officers occurs each October. The Board of Regents for the Academic Year of 2020-21 will be installed in October 2020.

Edward GroganChair
Mark GouldVice Chair
Michelle LongVice Chair
Mark MillerVice Chair
Susan CaulkinsVice Chair and Secretary
Patrick GehringTreasurer
L. Allan BeltonPresident, PLU; Ex-Officio
Jonette BlakneyCarson, WAELCA
Susan CaulkinsTacoma, WAAlumni
Bruce DealMenlo Park, CAAt-Large
Edward GroganGig Harbor, WAAt-Large
Joe MayerTacoma, WAAt-Large
Mark MillerEdgewood, WAAt-Large
Arne NessSammamish, WAELCA
Tom SaathoffRidgefield, WAELCA
Scott SquiresNewbury Park, CAELCA
Troy AndradeHonolulu, HIAt-Large
Erik BensonSeattle, WAAt-Large
Becky BuradSan Francisco, CAELCA
Jeff GreeneGig Harbor, WAAt-Large
Mark GriffithBellevue, WAELCA
Jaynee GrosethBozeman, MTELCA
Richard JaechTacoma, WABishop, ELCA
Laurie JunglingGreat Falls, MTBishop, ELCA
Sara KassBethesda, MDELCA
Laurie Larson CaesarPortland, ORBishop, ELCA
Michelle LongNovato, CAAt-Large
Osamu MatsutaniAnchorage, AKELCA
Linda StrandMercer Island, WAAlumni
Daniel AlsakerSpokane, WAELCA
Joyce BarrArlington, VAAlumni
Mark GouldLafayette, CAAt-Large
Darren HambySeattle, WAELCA
Matt IseriSeattle, WAAt-Large
Brenda MorrisLake Tapps, WAAt-Large
Jerry SkagaGig Harbor, WAELCA
Laurie SoineSeattle, WAELCA
Charleen TachibanaWoodinville, WAELCA
Michael FrechetteDean of Enrollment Management & Student Financial Services
Patrick GehringAssociate Vice President for Finance
Joanna GregsonProvost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
Daniel LeeVice President for University Relations
Teri PhillipsChief Operating Officer
Joanna Royce-DavisVice President for Student Life
Luke RuizChair, Staff Council
Mary Ellard IveyBiology, Faculty
Lisa MarcusEnglish, Faculty
Bridget YadenLanguages & Literatures, Faculty
Neal YakelisChemistry, Faculty
Carlos AlvarezASPLU Vice President, Student
Gracie AndersonASPLU President, Student
CeCe ChanASPLU Diversity Director, Student
Sheridan MooreASPLU PR Director, Student
Joey GrabowskiRHA President, Student
Heze GoodwinRHA Vice President, Student
Sam EbnerSAAC President, Student
Emily HughesMember Rep and Chair, Corporation Committee
Bishop Elizabeth A. EatonBishop
Mr. Bill HorneVice President
Deacon Susan RothmeyerSecretary
Ms. Lori FedykTreasurer
Rev. Mark WilhelmExecutive Director, Network of ELCA Colleges & Universities