All faculty standing committees come into being or go out of existence by vote of the faculty.  Under Article IV, Section 4 of the Bylaws to the Faculty Constitution, there are three kinds of committees: faculty-created standing committees, ad hoc committees, and university standing committees.

Eight faculty-created standing committees currently exist: