2019-20 Academic Calendar

Pacific Lutheran University uses a 4-1-4 calendar, which consists of two 15-week semesters bridged by a four-week January Term.

Undergraduate Programs

2018-19 End of term dates

    • May 24, 2019 – Friday, Spring Semester ends
    • May 27, 2019 – Monday, Memorial Day Holiday   (PLU closed)

Summer Sessions 2019 (June 3 – August 2)

    • Term I: Monday, June 3 – Friday, June 28
    • Term II: Monday, July 1 – Friday, July 26
    • Independence Day: Thursday, July 4   (No classes, PLU offices closed)
    • Workshop Week: Monday, July 29 – Friday, August 2
    • Summer Session Ends: Friday, August 2   (Diploma date for undergraduates)
    • Final Grades Due: Friday, August 9
    • Labor Day: Monday, September 2   (PLU offices closed)

Fall Semester 2019 (September 9 – December 20)

    • Student Orientation: Thursday, September 5 – Sunday, September 8
    • Opening Convocation: Monday, September 9 at 10 a.m.
    • Classes Begin: Monday, September 9 at 12:30 p.m.
    • Mid-Semester Break: Friday, October 25   (No classes, PLU offices open)
    • Veterans Day: Monday, November 11   (Observance at Chapel)
    • Thanksgiving Break: Wednesday, November 27 at 1:35 p.m. – Sunday, December 1
      (PLU offices are closed Thursday and Friday, November 28-29)
      Classes resume on Monday, December 2 at 8 a.m.
    • Classes End: Saturday, December 14   (Saturday classes take final exam this day)
    • Final Examinations: Monday, December 16 – Friday, December 20
    • Fall Semester Ends: Friday, December 20
    • Final Grades Due: Friday, January 3

January Term 2020 (January 6 – January 31)

    • Classes Begin: Monday, January 6
    • Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Holiday: Monday, January 20   (No classes, PLU offices closed)
    • Classes End: Friday, January 31
    • Final Grades Due: Wednesday, February 5

Spring Semester 2020 (February 6 – May 22)

    • Classes Begin: Thursday, February 6
    • Presidents’ Day: Monday, February 17   (No classes, PLU offices closed) 
    • Spring Break: Monday, March 23 – Friday, March 27   (PLU offices open)
    • Easter Break: Friday, April 10   (No classes, PLU offices closed)
      Classes resume Monday, April 13 at 8 a.m.
    • Classes End: Saturday, May 16   (Saturday classes take final exam this day.)
    • Final Examinations: Monday, May 18 – Friday, May 22
    • Spring Semester Ends: Friday, May 22
    • Commencement: Saturday, May 23
    • Final Grades Due: Friday, May 29

Graduate Programs

Students should consult with their program for specific calendar information on meeting dates.

Summer Session 2019 (May 28 – August 16)

    • Session Begins: Tuesday, May 28
    • Independence Day: Thursday, July 4   (No classes, PLU offices closed)
    • Sessions Ends: Friday, August 16   (Diploma date for graduate students)
    • Final Grades Due: Friday, August 23

Fall Semester 2019 (September 9 – December 20)

    • Classes Begin: Monday, September 9
    • Mid-Semester Break: October 25   (No classes, PLU offices open)
    • Veterans Day: Monday, November 11   (Observance at Chapel)
    • Thanksgiving Break: Wednesday, November 27 at 1:35 p.m. – Sunday, December 1
      (PLU offices are closed Thursday and Friday, November 28-29)
    • Fall Semester Ends: Friday, December 20
    • Final Grades Due: Friday, January 3

January Term 2020 (January 6 – January 31)

    • Classes Begin: Monday, January 6
    • Martin Luther King, Jr., Birthday Holiday: Monday, January 20   (No classes, PLU offices closed)
    • Classes End: Friday, January 31
    • Final Grades Due: Wednesday, February 5

Spring Semester 2020 (February 6 – May 22)

    • Classes Begin: Thursday, February 6
    • Presidents’ Day: Monday, February 17   (No classes, PLU offices closed)
    • Spring Break: Monday, March 23 – Friday, March 27   (No classes, PLU offices open)
    • Easter Break: Friday, April 10   (PLU offices closed)
    • Spring Semester Ends: Friday, May 22
    • Final Grades Due: Friday, May 29

Last Modified: March 22, 2018 at 4:28 pm