Board of Regents

Ownership, Support, Government:

The University is owned and operated by Pacific Lutheran University, Inc., a Washington corporation whose purpose is higher learning. The PLU corporation meets annually on the PLU campus to elect regents and to conduct other business. The corporation consists of 125 delegates from the six synods of Region I of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. The 37-member Board of Regents includes members of ELCA congregations, representatives from the Alumni Association, at-large members, bishops from the synods of Region I, and the University president.

The policymaking and governing body of the University is the Board of Regents. On the basis of recommendations made by the president, it charts a course for the University and strives to provide essential funds. The student body and the faculty have non-voting representatives who meet with the board. The installation of new Board of Regents Officers occurs each October. The Board of Regents for the Academic Year of 2017-18 will be installed in October 2017.

Edward GroganChair
Mark GouldVice Chair
Michelle LongVice Chair
Mark MillerVice Chair
Susan CaulkinsVice Chair and Secretary
L. Allan BeltonActing President, PLU; Ex-Officio
Daniel AlsakerSpokane, WAELCA
Mark GouldLafayette, CAAt-Large
Matt IseriSeattle, WAAt-Large
Brenda MorrisLake Tapps, WAAt-Large
Jeffrey RippeyHood River, ORAt-Large
Laura RothenbergerSeattle, WAELCA
Gary SeversonGig Harbor, WAAt-Large
Jerry SkagaGig Harbor, WAELCA
Charleen TachibanaWoodinville, WAELCA
Jonette BlakneyCarson, WAELCA
Susan CaulkinsTacoma, WAAlumni
Edward GroganGig Harbor, WAELCA
Lisa KittilsbyMercer Island, WAELCA
Richard LarsonGig Harbor, WAAt-Large
Mark MillerEdgewood, WAELCA
Laurie SoineSeattle, WAAlumni
Shelley WickstromAnchorage, AKBishop, ELCA
Donald WilsonCanby, ORELCA
Dale BensonLake Oswego, OKELCA
Erik BensonSeattle, WAELCA
Becky BuradSan Francisco, CAELCA
Andrew FinstuenBoise, IDELCA
Mack GriffithBellevue, WAELCA
Jaynee GrosethBozeman, MTELCA
Mark HogansBellevue, WAAt-Large
Richard JaechTacoma, WABishop, ELCA
Michelle LongNovato, CAAt-Large
Osamu MatsutaniAnchorage, AKELCA
Nancy PowellGig Harbor, WAAt-Large
Jan RuudTacoma, WAELCA
Martin WellsSpokane, WABishop, ELCA
Thorhild WidveyOslo, NorwayAt-Large
Joanna Royce-DavisVice President for Student Life
Donna GibbsVice President for Marketing and Communications
David LeeVice President for Advancement
Rae Linda BrownProvost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
Michael FrechetteInterim Dean of Enrollment Management
Michelle CeynarPsychology, Faculty
Seth DowlandReligion, Faculty
Jacob EggeBiology, Faculty
Neal YakelisChemistry, Faculty
Hilary VoASPLU President, Student
Oni MayersASPLU Vice President, Student
Austen BeiermanASPLU Finance Director, Student
Morgan MyersRHA President, Student
Kyle RapaczSAAC President, Student
Bishop Elizabeth A. EatonBishop
Mr. Bill HorneVice President
Rev. Wm. Chris BoergerSecretary
Rev. Linda O. NormanTreasurer
Rev. Mark WilhelmProgram Director for Schools, College and Universities