2016-2017 Academic Calendars

Undergraduate Programs

2015-2016 End of term dates
May 27, 2016 – Friday, spring semester ends
May 30, 2016 – Monday, Memorial Day (PLU closed)

Summer Session 2016 (June 6 – August 5)
  • Term I: Monday, June 6 – Friday, July 1
  • Term II: Tuesday, July 5 – Friday, July 29
  • Independence Day Holiday: Monday, July 4 (No classes, PLU offices closed)
  • Workshop Week: Monday, August 1 – Friday, August 5
  • Summer Session Ends: Friday, August 5 (Diploma date for undergraduates)
  • Final Grades Due: Friday, August 12
Fall Semester 2016 (September 6 – December 16)
  • Student Orientation: Thursday, September 1 – Sunday, September 4
  • Labor Day: Monday, September 5 (No classes, PLU offices closed)
  • Opening Convocation: Tuesday, September 6 at 9:00 a.m.
  • Classes Begin: Tuesday, September 6 at 11:50 a.m.
  • Mid-Semester Break: Friday, October 21 (No classes, PLU offices open)
  • Veterans Day: Friday, November 11 (Observance at Chapel)
  • Thanksgiving Break: Wednesday, November 23 at 1:35 p.m. – Sunday, November 27
    PLU offices are closed Thursday-Friday, November 24-25
    Classes resume on Monday, November 28 at 8:00 a.m.
  • Classes End: Saturday, December 10 (Saturday classes take final exam this day)
  • Final Examinations: Monday, December 12 – Friday, December 16
  • Fall Semester Ends: Friday, December 16
  • Final Grades Due: Friday, December 23
January Term 2017 (January 3 – January 31)
  • Classes Begin: Tuesday, January 3
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Holiday: Monday, January 16 (No classes, PLU offices closed)
  • Classes End: Tuesday, February 7
Spring Semester 2017 (February 8 – May 26)
  • Classes Begin: Wednesday, February 8
  • President’s Day: Monday, February 20 (No classes, PLU offices closed)
  • Spring Break: Monday, March 27 – Friday, March 31 (No classes, PLU offices open)
  • Easter Break: Friday, April 14 (No classes, PLU offices closed)
    Classes resume Monday, April 17 at 8:00 a.m.
  • Classes End: Saturday, May 20 (Saturday classes take final exam on this day)
  • Final Examinations: Monday, May 22 – Friday, May 26
  • Spring Semester Ends: Friday, May 26
  • Baccalaureate: Friday, May 26 at 3 p.m.
  • Commencement: Thursday, May 25
  • Final Grades Due: Friday, June 2

Graduate Programs

Summer Session 2016 (May 31 – August 19)
  • Session Begins: Tuesday, May 31
  • Independence Day: Monday, July 4 (No classes, PLU offices closed)
  • Summer Session Ends: Friday, August 19 (Diploma date for graduate students)
  • Final Grades Due: Friday, August 26
Fall Semester 2016 (September 6 – December 16)
  • Classes Begin: Tuesday, September 6
  • Mid-Semester Break: Friday, October 21 (No classes, PLU offices open)
  • Veterans Day: Friday, November 11 (Observance at Chapel)
  • Thanksgiving Break: Wednesday, November 23 at 1:35 p.m. – Sunday, November 27
    PLU offices are closed Thursday and Friday, November 24-25
    Classes resume on Monday, November 28 at 8:00 a.m.
  • Fall Semester Ends: Friday, December 16
  • Final Grades Due: Friday, December 23
January Term 2017 (January 3 – January 31)
  • Classes Begin: Tuesday, January 3
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Holiday: Monday, January 16 (No classes, PLU offices closed)
  • Classes End: Tuesday, January 31
  • Final Grades Due: Tuesday, February 7
Spring Term 2017 (February 8 – May 26)
  • Classes Begin: Wednesday, February 8
  • Presidents Day: Monday, February 20 (No classes, PLU offices closed)
  • Spring Break: Monday, March 27 – Friday, March 31 (PLU offices open)
  • Easter Break: Friday, April 14 (No classes, PLU offices closed)
  • Spring Semester Ends: Friday, May 26
  • Baccalaureate: Friday, May 26 at 3 p.m.
  • Commencement: Saturday, May 27
  • Final Grades Due: Friday, June 2

Last Modified: May 3, 2017 at 9:41 pm