PLU Sustainability Committee

The Sustainability Committee was formed as a campus collaboration to inspire, promote, and celebrate sustainability at PLU before achieving official status in Spring 2014. Its members are the springboard for sustainability initiatives on campus and are the best start to getting involved in your own way.

The Sustainability Committee oversees awards of two $3,500 Student Sustainability Fellowships, which fund individual student research on any aspect of sustainability at PLU. To read more about the Fellowship Program, past fellowships, and our Sustainability Fellows, click here.

To contact the Sustainability Committee, email Chairperson Tarka Wilcox, at

Committee Members


Hannah Stephens
ASPLU Sustainability Director

Oni Mayer
ASPLU Vice President

Daniel Hachet
RHA Sustainability Director

Kim Mai
Sustainability Fellow


Angie Hambrick
Assistant Vice President of Diversity, Justice, and Sustainability

Ken Côté
Campus Landscape & Athletic Fields

First sprouts to rise: Ribbon cutting ceremony also marks new plant life at PLU community garden.


Tarka Wilcox, Chair
Assistant Professor of Geosciences

Ralph Flick, Secretary
Assistant Professor of Business

Administrators & Staff

Gretchen Howell
Associate Director of HR, Campus Transportation

Wendy Robins
The Commons Operation Manager

Raymond Orr
Associate Vice President, Facilities Management

Chris Albert
Marketing & Communications

Joe Bell
Director of Environmental, Health, Safety & Emergency Programs

Saiyare Refaei
Coordinator for Sustainability Integration