Watch the Celebration of the Student Life Leadership Awards virtual party to recognize outstanding LUTE leaders, clubs, organizations, faculty/ staff/ mentors, and as we induct students into the KNIGHTS of the Rose Window community.

Highlighting leadership in social justice & diversity, sustainability, innovation, mentoring, vocation, and living out the PLU mission.

Graduating Senior Awards:

Student graduating at the conclusion of this academic year, as well as students who graduated the previous December, (for example: a student who graduated in December 2019 may be nominated for an award in 2020) and have not received a Senior award previously are eligible for the following awards:


This award honors a student for their exceptional leadership contributions to the PLU and greater Tacoma communities. As the highest honor presented by the Division of Student Life, this award recognizes student excellence in leadership that embodies the ideals and values expressed through the University Mission.

2020 recipients are:  Todd Dizon, Kylie Rademacher,  Kyle Siemers, Fatou Dieng, and Carson Begstrom



This award honors a student who has demonstrated leadership through education and advocacy for the sustainability of the earth and its inhabitants. The recipient has engaged the interconnection between people, planet, and prosperity, and incorporated economic, ethical, and environmental concerns into their lives and relationships with others.

2020 recipient is: Daniel Hatchet



This award honors a student who has demonstrated innovation through thought and action, and who has contributed greatly to the improvement of the PLU community or student experience in a transformational and groundbreaking way

2020 recipients are: Natalia Giovengo and Ivory Turner



This award honors a student who is purposeful in exploring, discerning and living their vocation in a way that serves both their purpose and academic pursuits and that contributes to the lives of others by meeting a “world’s greatest need”.  This student has a comprehensive understanding of the reflective process required for discerning vocation and a demonstrated track record in influencing their peers by mentoring them in discerning their vocation and leading and guiding them to contribute to response to world’s greatest need.

2020 recipients are: Ian Lindhartsen and Michelle John



This award recognizes a student who has served as an agent of change. The individual receiving this award has contributed to increasing the PLU community’s capacity for the awareness and action necessary for justice; prioritized and engaged diversity and inclusion at PLU, local, regional, and/or global communities; and has committed to the personal learning necessary for efficacy in this work

2020 recipients are: Barbara Gilchrist, Kenzie Gandy, and Dejan Perez



This award honors a student who, through collaborative leadership and enthusiasm for cross-campus connections, has made a contribution that has improved the PLU student experience in specific ways or as a whole. This individual challenges others and the PLU community to live up to the ideals embedded in the university’s mission.

2020 recipients are: Ian Rice, Sophie Apgar, and Abbigail Terry



This award honors a student who through the mentorship of other students has recognized their strengths, encouraged them to their cultivate strengths and utilize them for the good of community, and supported them to explore their passions and vocation.

2020 recipients are: Anamaries Garcia Marrero and Nathan Adams



These awards recognize individuals and groups that have quietly and loudly advanced the mission of PLU by fostering growth in thoughtful inquiry, service, leadership and care. Through their actions and development of programs and services, the recipients of these awards have promoted innovation, engagement, and holistic-wellbeing to support student success, transition, and graduation. Contributions include quiet influencers and socializers who enhance the student experience, while providing opportunities for others to become involved and transform through care and service at PLU and in the Parkland/Tacoma community. (all continuing students, clubs/organizations, initiatives, and faculty/staff mentors and advisors are eligible for these awards)


Inquiry:  examination into facts or principles, research, questioning, innovation

Individuals and groups
awarded in this category always ask the questions…. Why? What if? Who does this serve? and How can we do better? Those highlighted in Inquiry have created initiatives that have increased collaboration, innovation, and/or a willingness to try new approaches.


Service: the action of helping or doing work in community that makes a difference for well-being and and other mutually understood outcomes

Individuals and groups awarded in this category contribute to a sense of community on campus or by encouraging students to come together and meaningfully engage with one another and/or the Parkland and Tacoma community in service.


Leadership:  the art of inspiring people toward a shared purpose, facilitating shared outcomes and impact,  or supporting  advocacy and impact others

Individuals and groups awarded in this category explore and practice the art of leadership focused on community, increased awareness, and demonstrate resilience through the ability to pivot through challenging situations. We uplift those who recognize impact, strive to learn, engage respectfully and collaboratively with others, embrace equitable decision-making, and demonstrate courage to both speak up and listen.


Care:  the act kindness or support, showing concern for self and others

Individuals and groups awarded in this category have demonstrated care for self and others, uplifting wellness, holistic health, and addressing inequities in health and wellness, including awareness of the impacts of systems, policies, structures, and climate.

KNIGHTS of the Rose Window

This leadership distinction has become synonymous with aspiring LUTES who engage in leadership, service, and community impact. Students this year overcame huge obstacles by successfully navigating hybrid learning, social distancing, daily attestation reports, daily zooms, and so much more. This group of students not only discovered ways to thrive through connection, they helped their peers thrive.

Peers, faculty, and staff can nominate students to receive the Knights of the Rose Window recognition. This recognition is reserved for continuing students who explore to discover, learn by doing to develop skills, and apply their strengths in inquiry, service, leadership and care – for self, others, community, and the earth.


This leadership distinction has become synonymous with excellence in leadership, service, and community impact. This award is reserved for continuing students.

2020 recipients are: Aaron Miller, AJ Moore, Alissa Ouanesisouk, Bethany Girma, Bryant Barlett, Carlos Alvarez, Casey Brown, Cece Chan, Danny Samson, Hannah Jeffries, Heze Goodwin, Hunter Hobbs, Joey Grabowski, Kayna Kliewer, Miguel Ordanez, Rayna LaFave-Clark, and Sheridan Moore.


Check out Last Year's Award show, starts at the 8:30min marker.