1: Skip to content 2: Skip to navigation

Sing at PLU!

PLU’s vibrant vocal and choral program provides singers from all academic disciplines with outstanding opportunities for performance and study. Degrees are available in vocal performance and music education. The nationally renowned choral program, directed by Richard Nance and Brian Galante, offers an active schedule of performances on and off campus each year, appears regularly at professional music conferences, and tours regionally, nationally and internationally. PLU Opera presents a fully staged production with orchestra each year as well as scenes programs. Private lessons are available for all students from one of twelve voice faculty, led by James Brown. Lagerquist Concert Hall and the Karen Hille Phillips Center for the Performing Arts are two of the finest performance facilities in the Northwest. If you love to sing, PLU is the place for you!

Highlights of the choral music education degree include courses in elementary music methods and materials, secondary choral methods, secondary choral literature, vocal pedagogy, and four semesters of conducting. This is one of the most extensive undergraduate choral music education degrees available. PLU graduates are consistently placed in outstanding elementary and secondary school choral music positions.

FALL

Fall Choral Concerts
Tuesday, October 17, at 8pm
Wednesday, October 18, at 8pm

Choral Union: Gioachino Rossini’s Petite Messe Solennelle
Sunday, November 12, at 3pm
General Admission $17 • Military, 60 + and Alumni $10 • PLU Community & 18 and under $5

Tickets can be purchased online via the following link: Choral Union

Sounds of Christmas with University Singers and Men’s Chorus
Friday, December 1, at 8pm

Tickets can be purchased online via the following link: Sounds of Christmas

Gloria, a PLU Christmas
Saturday, December 2, at 8pm – Lagerquist Concert Hall, PLU
Sunday, December 3, at 3pm – Lagerquist Concert Hall, PLU
Monday, December 4, at 7:30pm – Benaroya Hall, Seattle
Friday, December 8, at 8pm – Lagerquist Concert Hall, PLU
Saturday, December 9, at 8pm – Lagerquist Concert Hall, PLU

Tickets go on sale on Wednesday, November 1, and will be available through the following web page: Gloria, a PLU Christmas

Opera: Dido and Aeneas
Thursday, January 25, at 7:30pm
Friday, January 26, at 7:30pm
Saturday, January 27, at 7:30pm
Sunday, January 28, at 3pm

PLU Opera presents a masterpiece of the baroque era, Dido and Aeneas recounts the love of Dido, Queen of Carthage, for the Trojan hero Aeneas. A powerful Sorceress conspires to destroy them. Performed in English with chamber orchestra.

Dr. Jim Brown, conductor and Stage Director

Tickets can be purchased online via the following links:

January 25-27, Dido and Aeneas

January 28, Dido and Aeneas

SPRING

Choral Union: George Frideric Handel’s Coronation Anthems and Dettingen Te Deum
Sunday, March 18, at 3pm
General Admission $17 • Military, 60 + and Alumni $10 • PLU Community & 18 and under $5

Tickets can be purchased online via the following link: TBD

Choir of the West
Wednesday, April 18, at 8pm

Tickets can be purchased online via the following link: TBD

Opera Scenes
Friday, April 27, at 7:30pm
Saturday, April 28, at 7:30pm

Tickets can be purchased online via the following link: TBD

University Singers and Men’s Chorus
Tuesday, April 24, at 8pm    

Admission is free, no ticket required.

University Chorale
Tuesday, May 1, at 8pm

Tickets can be purchased online via the following link: TBD

Scholarships

The Department of Music offers more than 250 scholarships each year to incoming students.

More
Livestream

Performances in Lagerquist Concert Hall are streamed on our website. Tune in to watch us live!

More
Like us on Facebook!

Stay up to date and in the loop. Get exclusive behind-the-scenes sneak peeks!

More
Department of Music

More