Katherine Kandel and Elizabeth Oleksak Scholarship

The Katherine Kandel and Elizabeth Oleksak Scholarship for the Center for Gender Equity was established in March 2010 to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the PLU Women’s Center and Women’s & Gender Studies Program. The scholarship shines light on the immense importance and influence of women in community, especially those women who have been invisible in the history of our society.

The scholarship represents a belief that power and influence should not be limited by gender, race, sexuality, class or access to education. Each spring the scholarship will be awarded to a PLU student committed to support the mission of the Center for Gender Equity through research or programming.

The lead gift for this scholarship endowment was donated by Anthropology Professor and founding chair of PLU’s Women’s Studies program and the Women’s Center, Dr. Elizabeth Brusco, in honor of her grandmothers Katherine Kandel and Elizabeth Oleksak.

picture of Elizabeth Brusco with mom and grandmotherThe scholarship recipient will work with the PLU Center for Gender Equity on either research or programming throughout the academic year in which they receive the award. There is an expected time commitment of one to two hours per week for the academic year. Additionally the awardee will attend CGE Advisory Board meetings. 

Through involvement in the Center for Gender Equity, award recipients will enrich the fabric of university life while increasing their own research and leadership skills.

Scholarship Legacy

Elizabeth Brusco

Dr. Elizabeth Brusco speaks at the Women’s Center’s 20th Anniversary Gala on March 22, 2010.

Applications for the 2022-23 school year will be open April 11th- April 30th. 

Interviews will be conducted the first week of May.

Awardee will be determined by Friday May 13th.

Past Recipients

2010-2011: Lauren Fuglevand (Biology)
2011-2012: Audrey Lewis (Chinese Studies & WMGS)
2012-2013: Malia Oshiro (Secondary Education)
2013-2014: Jenny Taylor (Hispanic Studies) and Leslie Ducay (Communications–Public Relations)
2014-2015: Lauren Mendez (Political Science)
2015-2016: Maria Cruse (Women’s & Gender Studies)
2016-2017: Olivia Ejeguru (Chemistry)
2017-2019: Lotte Duran (Women’s & Gender Studies)
2018-2019: Dejan Perez (Women’s & Gender Studies)
2019-2020: Natalia Giovengo (English)