Meet the Human Participants Review Board

Members of the HPRB and Unit Designates are always available for informal consultation on matters pertaining to projects involving human participants.

HPRB Members:
Marianne Taylor, Psychology, taylormg@plu.eduChair
Wendy Gardiner, Education,
Harry Papadopoulus, Kinesiology,
Gordy West, Nursing,
Holly Billiu, Community Member, PLU Alum,

HPRB Administrative Coordinator:
Carol Bautista (Faculty Governance Manager and Mentor Administrator)

Please contact Carol Bautista for questions, concerns, and issues related to HPRB and Mentor. If she cannot provide an answer, she will direct you to someone who can!

Unit Designates (HPRB reviewers in your department, or school):

College of Professional Studies
Business – Somaye Nargesi,
Communication, Media & Design Arts/Music/Theatre &Dance  –
Gina Gillie,
Education/Innovation Studies – Wendy Gardiner

College of Health Professions
Kinesiology/MFTH/SOCW- Harry Papadopoulos,
Nursing – Rhoberta Haley, and  Keena Gordon,

College of Natural Sciences
Natural Sciences – Sean O’Neill,
Pychology –  Michelle Ceynar,, Laura Shneidman,

College of Liberal Studies
 Liberal Studies – Xi Zhu,
Sociology and Criminal Justice – Lauri McCloud,, Kate Luther,

Student Life
Angie Hambrick,, and Joanna Royce-Davis,

The Unit Designates conduct an initial review of all new HPRB research proposals from investigators in their respective units. They then forward recommendations to the HPRB Chair. Each Unit Designate also serves as a liaison between the HPRB and the students, faculty, and administrators in their respective units and should be a first point of contact for discipline-specific questions (e.g., use of vulnerable participants and deception in Psychology research, whether a project meets the criteria for Quality Improvement in Nursing).