Accessibility Tools (CTRL+U)
Hide the tools

After hiding the tool, if you would like to re-enable it, just press CTRL+U to open this window. Or, move your cursor near the tool to display it.

Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics at Central Washington University

Posted by:
August 17, 2021

Central Washington University is very pleased to host the APS Conferences for Undergraduate Women in Physics on January 21-23, 2023. The application site will open on Monday, August 30, 2021 and will close promptly at 5PM EST on Monday, October 4, 2021.

The keynote presentation will be given by Dr. Donna Strickland, professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Waterloo. Dr. Strickland is one of the recipients of the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 for developing chirped pulse amplification with Gérard Mourou, her PhD supervisor at the time. They published this Nobel-winning research in 1985 when Strickland was a PhD student at the University of Rochester.

CUWiP will bring together successful female physicists and over 2,000 undergraduate women in physics to highlight career opportunities for women in physics and the contributions of women in physics. The meeting will provide ample opportunities for interacting with fellow physicists.

The conference will include the following activities:

  • Presentations by professional physicists on their cutting edge research and personal career paths
  • Panels featuring career opportunities outside academia
  • Workshops or panels offering guidance on how to get involved in summer research, the graduate school application process, applying to transfer to a four-year college from a community college, and preparing for and applying for jobs in industry
  • An opportunity for undergraduate attendees to present their research

More information on the Central Washington University conference can be found on our website: Websites for the other conference sites are given on the APS page at

This conference series has been supported by the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy, and is sponsored by the American Physical Society.