Faculty Affairs Committee (FAC)

Membership:  Six members elected from the faculty at large for three-year overlapping terms.

Advisory Members: Provost, Vice President for Finance and Operations, Director of Human Resources, and the faculty representatives to the Board of Regents.  Consistent with Article IV, Section 4, Subsection 4b, g and h of the Faculty Bylaws, advisory members shall have the same rights and privileges as any other member of the committee except the right to make motions and to vote.

General Purpose:  To study problems, recommend policy, and facilitate appropriate action in matters dealing with faculty welfare, and to plan and convene the faculty fall conference. To act in an intermediary capacity in matters concerning the welfare of the faculty as a whole.

Specific Duties:

  1. To recommend policy for the utilization of resources available to the faculty.
  2. To recommend policy concerning faculty scholarships and grants.
  3. To recommend policy concerning faculty leaves.
  4. To recommend policy concerning fringe benefits, retirements, and salaries.
  5. To seek to stimulate creative faculty activities.
  6. To express faculty sentiment on appropriate occasions.
  7. To plan the faculty fall conference.
  8. To designate one member of this committee to serve on the University Budget Advisory Committee.
  9. To advise the administration of the university in order to express faculty concerns and interests regarding the allocation of funds in the budget.
  10. To make a written report to the faculty at least once a year. The chair of the committee shall file a record of the committee’s activities in duplicate reports–one with the faculty secretary and one with the president of the university at the close of the school year.

Membership for 2018-19:

Name: Samuel Torvend (torvensa@plu.edu)
Department: Religion
Committee Seat: Expires 2019
Contact: 253-535-8106

Name: Rebecca Wilkin (wilkinrm@plu.edu) – Chair
Department: Languages and Literatures
Committee Seat: Expires 2019
Contact: 253-535-7313

Name: Daniel Heath (heathdj@plu.edu)
Department: Mathematics
Committee Seat: Expires 2020
Contact: 253-535-7401

Name: Priscilla St. Clair (stclair@plu.edu)
Department: Economics
Committee Seat: Expires 2020
Contact: 253-535-7662

Name: Katrina Hay (haykm@plu.edu)
Department: Physics
Committee Seat: Expires 2021
Contact: 253-535-5999

Name: Ralph Flick (flickrw@plu.edu) – Secretary
Department: Business
Committee Seat: Expires 2021
Contact: 253-535-7306