If you are living with a medically diagnosed food allergy or intolerance, you are not the only one on PLU’s campus! PLU Hospitality Services & Campus Restaurants is equipped and dedicated to accommodate customers who have food allergies, Celiac disease, or other dietary needs. Our Sous Chefs and managers are easily accessible, in order to provide safe, healthy, and delicious options.
Helpful nutrition information is displayed in The Commons. You’ll find the following symbols at the stations to inform you which allergens are present:
And the allergens will be listed out like this on the GET mobile app: Vegetarian (V), Vegan (Vn), Gluten-Friendly (GF), Gluten (G), Dairy (D), Egg (E), Soy (S), Sesame (Ss), Shellfish (Sf), Fish (F), Peanut (P), Treenut (Tn), Coconut (C), Pork (X)
Allergy icons are displayed based on recipe ingredients. Cross-contamination with other allergens is possible since the facility does receive other foods containing allergens that may not be noted. Further, some areas utilize the self-serve style of service in The Commons.
For more information about the most-common allergens, click on the links below:
Our house made desserts do include allergen listings, but we want you to know all our bakery products are produced on equipment which also produces products containing peanuts, tree nuts, cinnamon, seeds, dairy items and/or dried egg powder.
Food Allergy Research & Education (FARE) is a great resource for students with allergies, check our their page: Managing Food Allergies at College.
In The Commons we offer 2 meat choices that we source from outside suppliers as Certified Halal, these items will NEVER be substituted:
- Burgers at Crave
- Gyro meat at Aglio
Alcohol: If alcohol is added to a menu item, you will see it called out in the item’s description.
On the GET menu when ordering certain items, you will see a checkbox “This is Halal” and when you check that:
- Staff will use fresh gloves
- Staff will use dedicated Halal kitchen tools
- Staff will work to avoid cross-contamination
Since we prepare our food on one serving line and in one main kitchen where non-halal items are prepared, we cannot guarantee that any of our menu items are free of cross-contamination.
Food Allergies vs. Food Intolerances
Food Allergies involve the immune system. A protein within a food, known as the allergen, triggers a reaction from the immune system. The body tries to protect itself from the allergen by producing antibodies. These antibodies cause the body to release chemicals, which produces an allergic reaction. Food allergies are severe, yet rare. Only 2% of the adult population has a food allergy.
An allergic reaction can occur immediately or up to two hours after eating the food. As the food enters the mouth, it can trigger a tingling sensation in the mouth and possibly, a swelling of the tongue and throat. Then, as the offending food enters the stomach, it can cause cramping, diarrhea, or vomiting. When the allergen enters the bloodstream, it can cause a drop in blood pressure, hives, or asthma. Anaphylaxis, a sudden drop in blood pressure, is life threatening. If you experience these symptoms after eating a certain food, it might be possible that you are suffering from a food allergy or intolerance. Seek immediate medical assistance.
Food Intolerances do not involve the immune system, but instead result from a digestive system response. A food intolerance is a metabolic disorder. A natural substance in foods, known as histamine, can sometimes cause a reaction similar to an allergic reaction. Lactose intolerance is one of the most prevalent food intolerances, affecting at least one out of ten people. Yellow dye number 5, MSG (monosodium glutamate), and sulfites are also known food intolerances
Do you have Celiac Disease or gluten sensitivity?
Gluten-free diets are necessary for individuals who are intolerant of the protein gluten, naturally found in wheat, rye, and barley, and present in many other foods.
The Gluten Intolerance Group raises awareness of gluten-related disorders and provides helpful resources including this Gluten-Free Diet Guide.
Major and Hidden Sources of Gluten:
Major Sources of Gluten
Hidden Sources of Gluten
PLU Hospitality Services & Campus Restaurants Food Allergy Disclaimer
Be aware that all PLU Hospitality Services & Campus Restaurants locations prepare items containing gluten, dairy, soy, egg, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, coconut, sesame (The Commons does not use peanuts in the kitchen).
PLU Hospitality Services & Campus Restaurants makes every attempt to identify ingredients & provide up to date allergen information but cannot guarantee an item that we prepare to be allergen-free. Every effort is made to instruct our food production staff on the severity of food allergies.
In addition, we label items with possible allergen-containing ingredients; however, there is always a risk of contamination. There is also a possibility that manufacturers of the commercial foods we use could change the formulation at any time, without notice. Due to these conditions, PLU Hospitality Services & Campus Restaurants cannot guarantee that any item prepared in our kitchen is free of a certain ingredient or allergen. Customers concerned with food allergies need to be aware of this risk. Campus Restaurants also operates its own bakery. Our bakery is not a gluten-free or nut-free bakery. We cannot guarantee the absence of cross contamination with our baked goods.
PLU Hospitality Services & Campus Restaurants will not assume any liability for adverse reactions to foods consumed, or items one may come in contact with while eating at any University establishments. Students with food allergies are encouraged to contact PLU Hospitality Services & Campus Restaurants with the form below, or call 253-535-7472 for additional information and/or support.