Sigma Theta Tau International

In 1922, six nursing students at Indiana University founded Sigma Theta Tau, the honor society of nursing, to encourage continuing superior scholarship and leadership among nurses and provide a mechanism for recognition of nurses who achieved a high level of scholarship or demonstrated leadership in nursing. Today, Sigma Theta Tau (STTI) is an international society composed of more than 300 chapters. STTI includes those in Canada, Korea, and Taiwan and has over 150,000 members.

The name Sigma Theta Tau comes from the Greek letters Storga, Tharos, and Tima meaning Love, Courage, and Honor. The purposes of the society are to:

  • recognize superior achievement
  • encourage leadership development
  • foster high nursing standards
  • stimulate creative work
  • strengthen the commitment to the ideals of the profession

The PLU Nursing Honor Society recognizes students who demonstrate outstanding scholarly achievement and professional promise. The PLU School of Nursing participates in Psi Chapter-at-Large of Sigma Theta Tau, along with Seattle Pacific University and the University of Washington.

Eligible undergraduate students for Sigma Theta Tau have:

1. completed ½ of the nursing curriculum;
2. maintained a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher and
3. rank in the top 35% of their graduating class;
4. meet the expectation of academic integrity.

All graduate nursing students in good standing are considered for Sigma Theta Tau membership. Eligible graduate students must:

1. have successfully completed one quarter (25%) of the graduate nursing program;
2. have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher; and
3. meet the expectation of academic integrity

Nominations are processed by Sigma Theta Tau in January of each year.