Board of Regents

Ownership, Support, Government:

The University is owned and operated by Pacific Lutheran University, Inc., a Washington corporation whose purpose is higher learning. The PLU corporation meets annually on the PLU campus to elect regents and to conduct other business. The corporation consists of up to 50 delegates from the six synods of Region I of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. The Board of Regents includes members of ELCA congregations, representatives from the Alumni Association, at-large members, bishops from the synods of Region I, and the University president.

The policymaking and governing body of the University is the Board of Regents. On the basis of recommendations made by the president, it charts a course for the University and strives to provide essential funds. The student body and the faculty have non-voting representatives who meet with the board. The installation of new Board of Regents Officers occurs each October. The Board of Regents for the Academic Year of 2023-24 will be installed in October 2023.

Long '85Chair
Bruce Deal '87Vice Chair
MarkGriffith '02Vice Chair
ThomasSaathoff '87Vice Chair
TroyAndrade '07Secretary
TroyAndrade '07
JoyceBarr '76, '08
JonetteBlakney '85
ShelleyBryan-Wee '88
RebeccaBurad '74
SusanCaulkins '82
DavidCoy '90
BruceDeal '87
MarkGriffith '02
MattIseri '99
SaraKass '88
MichelleLong '85
MarkMiller '88
SalvadorMungia '81
ArneNess '72
Thomas Saathoff '87
LaurieSoine '88
ScottSquires '88
StacyWilson '03
Michael FrechetteDean for Enrollment Management & Student Financial Services
Patrick GehringAssociate Vice President for Finance
Joanna GregsonProvost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
Daniel LeeVice President for University Relations
Karen McConnellAssociate Vice President and Chief Institutional Effectiveness Officer
Joanna Royce-DavisVice President for Student Life; Chair, PLU Staff Council
Rick BarotEnglish, Faculty Secretary
James BrownMusic, Faculty Representative to the Board of Regents
Neal YakelisChemistry, Chair of the Faculty
Amy YoungCommunication, Media, & Design Arts, Vice Chair of the Faculty
Kenzie KnappASPLU President, Student
Andre Jones IIASPLU Vice President, Student
Isaiah LenardASPLU Social Justice Director, Student
Sheridan MooreASPLU PR Director, Student
Emma NilesASPLU Finance Director, Student
Syd CameronRHA President, Student
Mallory DryeRHA Vice President, Student
Danny SamsonSAAC President, Student
Megan BarnhouseSAAC Vice President, Student
Emily HughesMember Rep and Chair, Corporation Committee
Bishop Elizabeth A. EatonPresiding Bishop
Ms. Lori FedykTreasurer
Bishop Laurie JunglingBishop, ELCA
Bishop Meggan H. ManloveBishop, ELCA
Deacon Susan RothmeyerSecretary
Rev. Lamont WellsExecutive Director, Network of ELCA Colleges & Universities
Bishop Shelley WickstromBishop, ELCA